Recording Bass Guitar

minipops

Hi folks. I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to recording Bass. I can't figure out how you can record it effectively. If I play hard enough to not buzz out on the frets I get a punchy signal that peaks. If I play to quiet it sounds like a lifeless performance. Either or the performance is lack luster in sound quality. Im using a SR Ibanez 5 string bass with active Bartolini pickupsthe signal flows from that through to a apogee duet and out to a imac and a Logic Pro X bass preset. I also have tried guitar rig 5 bass presets and ezmix2.

When I use trilian I get what I want. Beautiful sound full of life. How can I re-create the sharp, crisp and gorgeous sounds that trilian offers in my own bass recordings?

Any insight would be very appreciated.

Thanks, and keep on Mixin'

Sounds like a gain staging issue. When you play at a comfortable level you're overloading the preamp or clipping the converters right?
So turn the gain down or, if it is down, turn down the bass guitar volume.

Is it safe to assume you're plugging into a hi-z/instrument input?

Most likely you need an outboard compressor, this will keep that punchy tone from peaking. DBX 160x are great for bass in the cheap range.

Remember, Trilian uses VERY expensive instruments too make their samples. Such as a 63 Fender Precision into an Ampeg Svt miced with a Nuemann 147 into an LA2A Comp. Granted its virtual but you get the point.

An active bass is capable of putting out a pretty hot line level signal from a low impedance source. Don't plug it into the hole labeled "instrument", plug it into a line input, preferably set at +4dbu and you shouldn't be able to actually clip the converter. If you're still getting that "clack" noise that sounds like distortion lower pickups. Bass strings seem to swing a lot further than guitar strings when you really lay into them, and it's a lot easier to hit the pickups with the strings, which sounds like ass.