Recording a 10 Strings guitar

SAM CA

I've been recording guitars for many years but NEVER a 10 strings guitar before! It is definitely a challenge to get a good tone from those LOW strings especially when you have smaller note values because they keep resonating and muddying up the whole thing. This is just a test recording:

I'm using a pair of KM 184 with an Apogee Duet. It was a noisy night in the neighborhood, so I put them a bit closer than I would've liked. Hence the exaggerated squeaks, breathing..etc. We're planning to record more. I'll get a better sound next time...hopefully!

Last edited:
... It sounds like someone keeping the sustain pedal down on a piano

Yeah, doesn't? It's a lot worse when you hear it in person. I don't even know how people manage to play this thing. You would definitely need to develop special techniques as a performer...even more so as an arranger/transcriber for this particular instrument. It's so nice to have all these extra low notes available but the piece needs to be arranged carefully .

Another bad thing about this recording was me NOT knowing the piece at all. I heard it for the first time as I was recording my friend. This was done just for fun, but even then I normally like to get to know the music I'm about to record before hands. Then you know what to expect. It does give you an idea for Mic placement as well.

Seems partly a control -appropriate muting of the lower strings. (the previous low tonic continuing after the chord has changed.
How one would do that.. on such a wide neck? ...The right hand/wrist perhaps? Wow. Nice though!

I could see this being 'a non issue, in it's natural live context.. vs 'recordings. ...where it's natural to tend to be much less forgiving.