Reamping box background noise

Laimon

Hi, I am new to reamping and I wanted to ask your advise.
I own a passive reamping box (Radial ProRMP), and I wanted to reamp some direct signal I recorded some time ago. If I send the signal straight from my sound card to the amp it makes a lot of background noise, and I know that's expected since (as far as I understood) the output of the sound card is balanced. Then I tried using the Radial in between, and the background noise has got only so much better, the signal seems far from clean as it should be. I must maybe say that the direct signal was not recorded with a direct box (so I recorded it unbalanced), but I don't think that's the real issue, since the background noise is present at all times, not only when a track is playing.
Am I doing something wrong in the connection?
Thanks a lot!

The balanced, unbalanced thing has nothing to do with it really. There are both level and impedance differences between a line level and an instrument signal. That is what the reamp box is for. (and what a direct box is for also)

Without hearing the background noise, I can't tell you what is causing it. It could be a ground loop, it coyld have been noise recorded with the signal because you didnt use a direct box, it could just be the amp, etc...

If you could post a sample of the noise, that would be helpful.

I'm not at home now, but I could try recording a sample and posting it later.
By the way, as far as I understand a direct box converts unbalanced signal to balance, and a reamp box does the opposite. But can one be used as the other by just having audio flow the other direction? For example, if I put a cable between the (balanced) output of my sound card to the (balanced) output of my direct box, and then another from the (unbalanced) input of the direct box to the input of an amp, will it work as a reamp box?