Problems Recording Audio into MacBook Pro with Art Tube MP Preamp

SonitusNemo

Hi, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to recording, but I've written a few songs on my guitar and wanted to get them into my Macbook Pro.

So, after probably not enough research(!) I bought a Rode M3 condenser mic and an Art Tube MP Preamp. I've connected the M3 to the preamp via an XLR cable, and used a 1/4" jack to connect the preamp to my Macbook Pro. (I used an adapter to change the 1/4" connector to a 1/8" mini-jack)

Now I've turned the microphone on, and it's supplied through the preamp by 48V phantom power. The set-up instructions for the Art Tube MP say that I should gradually increase the input level until the LED turns Red, (something to do with 'clipping') but as I increase the input gain I get nothing. Even more frustrating is when I open Garageband, and attempt to choose an input, it doesn't give the preamp as an option. All I have are 'system input' and 'built-in input'

I've probably gone and done something embarassingly dumb but I'd be really grateful if someone could help me get this working.

Many thanks!

Hi, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to recording, but I've written a few songs on my guitar and wanted to get them into my Macbook Pro.

So, after probably not enough research(!) I bought a Rode M3 condenser mic and an Art Tube MP Preamp. I've connected the M3 to the preamp via an XLR cable, and used a 1/4" jack to connect the preamp to my Macbook Pro. (I used an adapter to change the 1/4" connector to a 1/8" mini-jack)