Piano Recording Question

Pianoman43

Hi all,

First post here, and new to recording, so go easy. I'm trying to record from an electric piano (Kawai CA67) via a Presonus Audiobox USB 96 hooked to my computer with Windows 10 and Studio One Artist. My setup is:

>> Piano hooked to Audiobox
>> Audiobox hooked to computer
>> Headphones (Beyerdynamic 990 pro 250 ohm version) hooked to headphone output of Audiobox

Since this is my first time recording something, I'm running into a few issues. First, I was quite surprised at how soft of a volume clipping occurred. Is this normal?

Second, the headphone volume is very soft, even with the Audiobox phone output at max settings. I tried to buy a headphone amplifier at Guitar center and hooked it up as follows:

Audiobox headphone output --> amplifier --> headphones

But it just seemed to start introducing clipping to the headphones at a +1dB amplification, rendering it basically useless. My main question is: can I Y-cable the piano output as such without lowering recording quality:

Piano --> y-cable
Y-cable output 1 --> Audiobox --> computer
Y-cable output 2 --> headphone amplifier --> headphones

This way I can get full headphone volume and deliver a lower volume to the Audiobox and avoid clipping. Will the signal delivered to the Audiobox will be lower quality due to the splitting, or is that not something I need to worry about?

Thanks for your help!

The first thing you need to sort out is why you are getting low levels in the first place.

Do you have the mixer knob on the audio box turned towards input (at least half way)?

Is the wave form of the recorded signal looking healthy, or is it hardly there at all?

Have you connected the Kawaii to the Audio box via the Kawaii's line out? I think it also has a line in, and using this will not get you very far.