Phase Issues From Two Separate Recordings

darknight

I'm pretty new to recording but I thought I had guitar-related phase issues sussed in my DAW (Reaper) as well as a reasonable idea of how to minimise phase cancellation when setting up two microphones.

Now i've found something that has me absolutely stumped:

I recorded a track on a classical guitar, Rode NTA1 placed about 2 feet from the guitar. I then recorded an additional part exactly the same (going for this type of effect:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WvWkUhszeE) and on playback in mono there were phase issues (severe comb-filtering in a later set of takes I did). I've never had phase issues when recording two identical but individual guitar parts. What can I do to fix this? My usual act of moving the waveform in the DAW doesn't seem to be working like it does when I mic my amp up (for example) with two mics and get a little latency, i guess because the waveforms aren't identical. Any advice out there on this?

Having played around with a few trial versions of phase alignment plugins i'm starting to think that I need to address the issue earlier on in the process...

I used the phase inverted button in my DAW, if that's similar to what you mean?

It doesn't seem to solve the issue because the waveforms aren't identical, so if it fixes a small section it may not be a fix for the whole passage. This makes me think that I should try different mic placements between takes when tracking.

This is really baffling me.

This sort of thing just happens every once in a while. Is the recording destined to be listened to in mono?

Moving the mic between takes will help this. It is caused by being too precise from take to take. It's hard to combat because each note is a little different, yet close enough to cause comb filtering.

Something about this makes me think "all pass filter".