order of recording instruments

davecg321

After reading the following article a few questions came to mind.

Best Order To Record In? [Reader Question] | The Recording Revolution

If I am a using a drum programmer like ez drummer would it be more preferable to record the scratch track (vocals and guitar) over my already composed and finished drum track, and then layer/record instruments over the scratch? Or, with the drums already in place would it be common practice to the just start tracking the main rhythm parts? (without the need of a scratch track)

Would the article also be a good reference point for music without drums? I.e do I still record a scratch track to a click and then start tracking?

One last thing.... is it common practice to keep the scratch track take audible through the headphones for each instrument that is subsequently recorded, or, do we get rid of it after the drums or 1st instrument is recorded?

Home some light can be shed on this

Many thanks

Dave

Scratch to a click, drums, bass, everything else. Or do it however you want. You decide what YOU need to do. It's not complicated.

If your working at home with a programmed drummer, a scratch track is a waste of time.
You already have a perfect drummer. Just start layering the instruments on top of it.

Scratch tracks are more used in a studio when you have a whole band in so each member can track to something.
If you're at home with no time constraints, I don't see the point.

But you can if you want to. Nobody will ever know if you did or not, to be honest.

If your working at home with a programmed drummer, a scratch track is a waste of time.
No it isn't because the scratch track can be guide for programming the drums with some dynamics. But I know "drum programming" and "dynamics" are not things that people can usually pull off at the same time, so maybe it is a waste of time..