Normal mixer can be used as a recording mixer?

rmznkskngl

Hello friends,

View attachment 90455

At the attachment, you can see our studio mixer. This studio was just a rehersal studio, and we decided to turn it into a music and sound recording studio. The room has another next room and we will open a window between two rooms and make it both rehersal and recording studio. This mixer is somehow quality mixer and we do not want to buy a new recording mixer. Is it possible to turn this mixer into to recording mixer? If it is possible, what should I buy extra for recording? Can you list step by step what I need such as auido interface, software, type and quality of computer?

I am new in the subject. If I write some stupid things, pardon me
Thanks

That link doesn't go anywhere. Maybe you could just tell us what mixer you have.

You don't really need a mixer to record, but for bigger sessions there are some advantages.

Sorry for the link, 3 hours ago, I was in the studio but I forget to check the name of mixer. We connect in all guitars microphones into this mixer, so what I simply thought is "there can be some devices which we can combine with this mixer and add a computer. So we can record the insturements and sounds." But this is just a guess, I dont know exactly. If it is not easy to help without knowing the brand of mixer, I can write it in 2-3 days.

Not only the brand, but the model. Some mixers can do everything, some are much more specific.

There is no exact definition of a "recording mixer" vs. a "normal mixer". Indeed, many would consider "recording" as the normal state for a mixer.

Having said that, usually for recording you want to record each channel separately into your computer (or whatever you're recording on) while for live use, you're usually, well, mixing and only need one or two outputs.