Noob looking for guidance

hamfisted

Hey all,

I've been playing guitar for about two years now and I'd like to start recording my progress. I'm simply a play at home guy who plays along with backing tracks (mostly from youtube) and at this point have no intention of doing anything more than sharing with friends and maybe posting a few videos or tracks on youtube.

There's so many ways to go with recording that I'm a bit overwhelmed. I'm pretty much technologically challenged so simple would be good. I have Audacity (which I find more than a little confusing) and a Boss BR-600 that I find equally confusing. I recently tried recording me playing with a backing track using the BR-600's built in mics. I was pretty happy with the results.

The issue with that is converting the tracks to MP3's or whatever I need to do to save them on my computer. A friend suggested a hand held field recorder that records in MP3 format. That seems like a good solution but as I said, there's so many options.

As far as cost, I'd like to keep it on the low side under $500 if possible.

So I'd really appreciate anyone's input as to what a simple method that would produce good results knowing what my parameters are.

Thanks in advance.

i'm no expert at recording over existing tracks - but if i were to tackle this type of gig, I would insert a wav file into my DAW and open a new track for my overdubbed guitar. obtaining those wav files is the problem. maybe someone else has an idea of how to get your youtube vids into wav format. that's all i got, sorry!

Take a look at this link: Lame Installation - Audacity Wiki

Be careful to note, that there is a link to download the Lame plug in. Once installed, just follow the instruction under the link. You're all set and the price is zero.

Thanks for the fast reply! I'll look into that.