Newbie help!

deaf clef pro

Hello, everyone! I'm new to both this forum and audio capture/production. I'm starting this thread here to get some CONSTRUCTIVE inputs for my current efforts and to be pointed in the right direction moving forward.

1. Environment-My living room. Single-story ranch platform over crawlspace. Textured ceiling, standard drywall and medium-pile padded carpet. No grounded outlets. I turn off the HVAC, fishtank, fountain and all electronics in the room while recording. The guitarist sits on my couch with his back to the 7x4 ft window; I'm around the corner in a bedroom with my power conditioner, Boss BR-1180 and KRK 6400 headphones.

2. Setup-Takamine acoustic guitar, using a Sterling Audio S50 microphone (in the shock mount) on input 1 (with phantom supplied by the BR-1180) and a snap-in pickup on the guitar input. The mic is positioned about 10-12 in away from the sound hole and has a pop filter to reduce percussive pick noise. It's on a boom stand which I isolate from the floor using soft pillows. Seems primitive but it helps. I record the mic and pickup on tracks 1 and 2 respectively. I play with the pan and EQ (Mic: set high to shelf type, lower the freq to around 6k and trim it -4 to -6 db to kill the staticy fuzz [which probably has a more technical name]; then I set the low end to shelf, raise the freq to somewhere around 60-100hz and boost 2-3 db. Pickup: Almost the same on high end, but I actually cut the low end a bit to brighten it up). I balance out the volume levels when bouncing to tracks 9/10. This device has a robust "Mastering Tool Kit" (specifically for tracks 9/10 with much better EQ capabilities that I have yet to fully explore) so I'll trim off any pre- and post-music crud then master the track to the best of my abilities. Results sound very pleasing through my KRK 6400 headphones.