It NEVER sounds the same...

Hummerzdad

So I am a novice at best. I probably know enough to be dangerous! I have a Boss BR-1600CD and I generally used pre-recorded tracks and record my vocals. The problem comes when I mix down I think it sounds so good, then I record it on to a CD and ploay it either in my vehicle or on another player and its terrible! So I just not sure what the heck Im doing to get this effect. I use Sennheiser HD 280 closed back head phones. Any ideas or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Headphones don't quite usually "do it" for mixing. Your mixes don't translate very well to other systems because your headphones aren't giving you an accurate representation of what your mix actually sounds like. You should get yourself some monitor speakers to start, and then work on acoustically treating your mixing room.

Ok I will do that. And now that I think about it, that would make sense in that Im using headphones which have a captive sound, whereas the monitors would be more a true sound. Thats great thanks I really appreciate it!

Ok I will do that. And now that I think about it, that would make sense in that Im using headphones which have a captive sound, whereas the monitors would be more a true sound. Thats great thanks I really appreciate it!

Yes, part of the beauty of monitors is that they react both with the room and with themselves (the left and right monitors). With headphones the left and right channels are completely isolated from each other, but monitors allow panned sounds to be in the same atmosphere at the same time. Do you have a budget for monitors? Maybe somebody here could recommend you a pair that fit your budget.

Not to kick off the whole "Can I mix on headphones?" debate again, but it's EXTREMELY difficult for someone with little audio experience to get good results when mixing on headphones.