My Grand Experiment (Strings)

gdgross1978

Hey Everyone

I'm a typical poor/ish musician who is jonesing for a string section sound on a shoestring budget. I find myself unable to get a convincing section sound out of my sample libraries (I'm currently using the kirk hunter orchestral samples.) I’ve also tried multitracking string players in the past, with equally unconvincing, but different results: The sample sound fake, and the multitracking sounds cold and chorus-y.

I’ve written parts for violin 1, 2, Viola and cello (might have a bass player friend come in too, we’ll see.) for a tune I’m working on. Here’s my new idea: I’d like to try multitracking again with a different spin: recording the same player with as small variations on each take, from physically different places in the studio. For example, for the first violins, I’m thinking about literally setting up a stereo pair of mics, four chairs, and having one player take four passes through the part, one from each chair. If they happen to have a second instrument and/or bow, all the better, I can have them play the other instrument for some of the takes as well.

My thought is that, like a double tracked vocal vs a choir, the physical room reflections, subtle distance from the mics, and other small acoustic variations might yield better results. I can’t duplicate the different “voices” as well though, as I don’t’ have the option of getting many players, otherwise I’d just hire them all and have myself a section. ;-)

So, the questions:

Stereo mic pair or single mic? My gut says stereo pair, but I’d like to keep the number or tracks manageable too… My room does tend to the dry side.

Second, and more generally, does this idea have legs? Do you think I am trying to make gold out of lead here or is this something worth trying?