My First Mic/Setup - Any Help Appreciated!

foxcatcher64

Hey all,

This is my first post on this forum so I hope I won't get laughed off the site for my lack of knowledge!

I'm an experienced guitar player and vocalist, and I've been playing guitar and singing for the past 10 years. Recently, I've really been tempted to start recording music of my own. I've done a little bit of research and found out that for my applications, it's best that I purchase an interface with phantom power and a good mic.

I'm mostly going to be recording male vocals and acoustic guitar. I've already ordered the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, which will connect to my laptop running Pro Tools. I've narrowed my search down to two microphones. They are very different, and I'm having trouble deciding between the two, which is mostly why I'm here! The two microphones in question are as follows:

1. Shure SM57 - The legendary, classic microphone. I've used it several times live and have been blown away by the quality of sounds that emanates from this little guy. I've heard nothing but great things about it in the studio, and it's price point and reliability make it an enticing choice.

2. Audio-Technica AT2020 - Most of my confusion lies here. For my applications, do I necessarily need a condenser mic? This one also sounds great to my ears, and it seems solid in construction from the limited experience I have with it.

I know that I can't really go wrong with either mic, but I am curious as to which one will serve me better. Again, I'm purely recording male vocals, acoustic guitar and maybe a little bit of electric guitar as well. Any insight is appreciated, and thank you all in advance!

- Hayden Godfrey

Hi,
I'd vote 57 as a first mic for a few reasons.
It's been around longer than most of us so you know what you're getting there in quality/durability etc.