MIDI Sucks!

Spliff

I am a musician first and a recording artist second, and I HATE MIDI. MIDI provides music without any soul or knowledge of music whatsoever. I have been trying to find some MIDI-free software and having no luck. Please provide pro or con input as to why we should employ systems that produce music without any human influence. there will never be a program sophisticated enough to duplicate the effects produced by an actual person playing an actual instrument. True Musicians, rally with me! ;-)

BTW, how do you make those yellow smileys?

I have to firmly disagree with you about MIDI. Just have a real musician play a tune on a velocity-sensitive MIDI keyboard through
a decent synthesizer. Record this sound with a good analog deck or digitally, while also recording the MIDI data. Then just have a sequencer play back the MIDI file through that same synthesizer and I doubt you can tell the real from the memorex.

I'm not talking about keyboards. I'm talking about guitars, drums, bass, horns, and other fully organic instruments. The actual recording style for MIDI is not my beef. I am generally angry at programs like Cakewalk that employ MIDI as the main form of recording. I am trying to put music from real instruments onto my computer and mix them, and I have yet to find a program to do that.

I see you've never played an AXON neural net guitar to MIDI converter. While this will never (at least not any time soon) be able to reproduce all the subtle sounds of a real guitar, the power of putting your music into this highly editable format is formidable.
And since the AXON is a parallel processing system, the MIDI output merely coexists with the actual sound of the guitar. You can turn off or lower the volume of the MIDI synth with a control right at your fingertips.
As to a non-MIDI recording program:
Sonic Foundry's Vegas Pro!
But why get upset about additional capability that no-one is forcing you to use?