Midi drums question from a Reaper noob

GardenofMike

Hey all,

Reaper noob here with a quick question. I'm planning on buying an electronic drum kit to record in Reaper. Based on what I've read, the best way to do this is to use the kit as a midi trigger. That being the case, is there any reason to invest in a good quality kit? If it's just triggering sounds in whatever plugin I end up using (recommendations welcome!), should I just buy the cheapest kit I can find with midi capability?

Thanks!

If you are going to do your own drumming, even with a VSTi, then the sensitivity (velocity) and mapping (how many areas can you map on one instrument) will be really important. When I say mapping, I am talking about if you can map the middle, edge, top, for various sounds. You may even want to use the actual sounds from the E-kit if they are good, just DI straight in.

I have an early cheap kit and the velocity sensitivity is the biggest draw back.

Pretty open question, but let me give it a shot (with a question). Are you a serious drummer? If yes, then it makes a huge difference what kit you get. Roland V kitss and the Alesis mesh sets will give you a lot more realistic feel. If no, then you could just get some sensitive pads or just play it out on your controller...or get the cheapest kit with midi works, too. If you want serious drum lines, you'll need better gear.

This is assuming that you can't afford (sonically, spacially and/or financially) real drums/mikes/inputs.
Take it from someone who's walked down that path. I bought the Alesis DM 10 Studio and wish I had paid the extra $150 to get the mesh heads. The feedback from the practice pad heads is no where near a real drum head. Yes, you can relearn how to do drum hits without bounce back, but it has not been fun.