Making Vocals Sound Deeper?

S2121

hey all. firstly sorry if this is a double post but my pc froze the first time itried to post. anyway im new to recording but im picking it up fairly quickly...im hoping someone here can help me out tho...im using acid pro 4.0 & cool edit pro 2.0 to record and im very confused by all the fx features (reverb, delay, etc.)...anyone know a good way to make a voice sound deepr/more bass? ive improved the overall sound of vocals but i still want to know how to add more fullness to the sound..if anyone has any advice id greatly apprecaite it. thanks.

S2121 said:
hey all. firstly sorry if this is a double post but my pc froze the first time itried to post. anyway im new to recording but im picking it up fairly quickly...im hoping someone here can help me out tho...im using acid pro 4.0 & cool edit pro 2.0 to record and im very confused by all the fx features (reverb, delay, etc.)...anyone know a good way to make a voice sound deepr/more bass? ive improved the overall sound of vocals but i still want to know how to add more fullness to the sound..if anyone has any advice id greatly apprecaite it. thanks.
Are you double tracking the vocals by singing them twice? Also changing out the mic you are using could help. I used an Audio Techinica Pro 31, and the vocals were too bassy for my taste. You could try that.

TC Helicon voice modeling technology as found on the TC Powercore is the closest you're going to get.

You're not actually using the plugins that came with Cool Edit Pro are you? ::SHUDDER::

Find some freeware ones on the net. They will blow those rancid plugs out of the water.

There isn't necessarily a "one-size-fits-all" solution to this, but some suggestions:

1 - double tracking, as mentioned by Rokket.
2 - dupe/bounce the existing vocal track to a new track, and apply a slight delay to it. Pan one track more to the left, one more to the right.
3 - EQ :)