m-audio 410 with m powered pro-tools vs. m-box 2 with pro-tools le

sewellnc

So recently i have been forced to make a choice...I have narrowed down my options and can't decide if I should buy an m-audio 410 interface and m powered pro-tools 7 software or the m-box 2 with pro-tools le. In terms of an interface, the m-audio sounds like a better deal and it is firewire, however I am not really familiar with the m powered pro-tools...i will be recording vocals, guitar, possibly some simple drumset, and i want to add some stuff in with a program like reason or something similar however im new to recording so i will have to learn how to use all of this. I am on a windows xp laptop and it is compatible with both interfaces...any comments or suggestions?

For sound quality I would got for the Mbox. Since it has a small number of inputs the usb limitation isn't a big issue since it isn't sending that much data. I've used m-audio stuff in the past and personally find the preamps are really lacking...can't say for sure on the 410 interface though. As far as the difference between m-powered and le it should be negligible. They are probably the exact same.

Pro Tools M-Powered and Pro Tools LE are almost exactly the same, and look and function exactly the same. The main difference is that M-Powered won't accept the DV toolkit, which is an extra plugins and features package that you wouldn't need anyway.

You'll need more than 2 channels to record a drum kit, so I'd go for the 410.

There's also a firewire version of the m-box if you're prepared to pay extra for....well the name name I guess

ya the firewire is the mbox2 pro
it basically just has a bunch of stuff that i dont really need