Low level, constant, background hiss noise on all my recordings. Help.

Optiplex

I've been recording my vocal/acoustic guitar for 15 years now. Always played live from beginning to end into the recorder, never any multi tracking, overdubbing or recording 'tricks'. My recording is always done at home. Sometimes I use 1 mic, sometimes 2 mics.... always plugged straight into whatever recording device I'm using.

No matter what system of recording used, be it stand alone digital recorders, computers, or digital recordings transferred to computer, I ALWAYS get low level, constant background hissing noise from the beginning of the recording to the end. Normally this noise is in the background and can't be readily heard due to the recording's volume. However, in "quiet spots" or pauses in a recording, and also at the end of recordings during the few seconds where the final strum or notes fade away, the noise becomes readily audible.

Over the years I have used good quality condenser mics, with good connector cords, into good quality recorders ... and the noise remains no matter what techniques tried. My recordings are quite good quality that satisfy me 100%, except for this continuing problem.

Often when I listen to other good amateur recordings on the internet, I don't hear this background noise during quiet spots or pauses in the songs. I wonder what the 'trick" is to remove, or not get in the first place, this constant low level background hiss noise? Does anyone have any informed suggestions?

If it is indeed a "hiss" and not simple room noise, then the two places to look are the microphones or the pre amps on you gear, with the pre amps being a strong favourite for the culprit. Even pretty good pre amps introduce noise (i.e. "hiss") if you have to turn up the gain anywhere near the highest level.

So...more details please. What microphones are you using and what are you plugging them into?