Low impedance DI box output vs high impedance audio interface input

MajsterOdTapet

I'd like to record some bass and guitar at home. What I have - besides instruments and combo - is MXR M80 effect/DI box. I consider buying some audio interface and mic in order to record both 'wet' and 'dry' tracks. (I guess it's all pretty obvious to you experts but as a newbie I'm trying to put everything as clear as I can). Most basic audio interfaces have low impedance XLR input and high impedance (instrument level) jack input. So, supposing I get one, what do I actually do?

a) Use my MXR as DI box and send (what I believe to be) a low impedance signal from its XLR to audio interface high impedance jack (interface's XLR is connected to the mic). Seems like I'm DI'ying the signal twice (at MXR and interface). Is it an issue or do I just manage this with proper knobs setup?
b) Keep away from MXR DI box function and buy a jack splitter.
c) Something else. I have no recording experience nor Physics degree and I might have messed up the facts.

Thanks in advance for an advice.

I cannot offer advice as to the best way to record bass an guitar, others here FAR better qualified.

What I CAN do is help you through some of the technicalities, pitfalls and maybe makes suggestions?
First off. There is no reason NOT to use that DI box. If you like and want the FX it gives you then go for it. The noise gate could be especially useful (or a PITA!).

Yes, you need an Interface, avoid the bottom feeding Focusrites IMHO and look at the Steinberg UR22 or a Roland. Even the Behringers seem pretty good.

The DI box should feed the MICROPHONE input of the AI and I would use the phantom power function as it will probably give you the greatest headroom. But, you could use the box on battery power and feed the jack output to a line (not instr) input on the AI. No right or wrong here.