Looking for new microphone for classical piano

xeep

Hi guys first post.

So I've been paying a guy 60$ an hour to help me record classical performances on a grand piano in this hall. I asked what device he's using and he told me it's the Rode NT4. I own a Zoom H5 and as far as I know I can get a Rode nt4 for nearly the same price(used but that should be no problem right?). And I've paid him more than the cost of his microphone anyways. The camera looks nice but for me video doesn't really matter as much.

I'm wondering what other techniques are required for recording. I know that I need to test highs and lows in volume most likely(not too sure about this process), along with find a good location for the microphone. I'm just a beginner here but I've always tried to record with my H5 with below average results.

I am also willing to spend more than 250$ on an even better microphone, if I could get a device that records with detailed sound. Obviously the professional classical recordings use 2000-3000$ mics and I won't pay for that, but up to 300-400$ for a mic that can nearly pass off as professional or matches microphones that cost more would be good. Been looking up microphones but it's really impossible to know these things well from listening to test clips on youtube... especially since I only care about the sound for piano and not everyone tests piano with their microphones. This should go without saying but I'm always gonna be using a grand piano, sometimes hall and sometimes in a closed studio.

I'd start with a search of "piano" and/or maybe "grand piano" in this forum. This topic gets covered pretty regularly based on my short time around these parts. The techniques and spaces are probably as important as the microphones.

So I've been paying a guy 60$ an hour to help me record classical performances on a grand piano in this hall. I asked what device he's using and he told me it's the Rode NT4. ...[snip]...