Looking for inexpensive interview microphone (and/or microphone set-up).

aidin

I am new to audio and audio recording, but am a journalist looking to step up my game while recording interviews. I currently have no quality microphones and have looked everywhere for a good interview mic (or mics? I don't know and am currently without a set-up). I'm on a budget and would like to spend as little money as possible for average or above-average quality-- a few hundred dollars, perhaps up to 500. I know that that's probably extremely cheap but if you could help me out I'd really appreciate it.

Thank you,
Aidin

edit: I also probably should clarify that I want this for sit-down interviews with little interfering noise, not sure if there's a name for that or something but I thought I should try and be more specific.

Last edited:
What are you using to record the microphone? Like, are you going direct into a camera, or into an audio interface, or a stand-alone recorder, or into a computer? That'll give us an idea of what kind of connections you have available, and will give us a better idea of what microphones would be appropriate.

would like to spend as little money as possible for average or above-average quality-- a few hundred dollars, perhaps up to 500. I know that that's probably extremely cheap
On the contrary; $500 would be hideous overkill. Frankly half that probably would be.

I'm guessing you're going to plug this right into your laptop, so you'd want a USB mic? If so, I'd check the Blue Yeti (about $100). Well regarded and very versatile.

What are you using to record the microphone? Like, are you going direct into a camera, or into an audio interface, or a stand-alone recorder, or into a computer? That'll give us an idea of what kind of connections you have available, and will give us a better idea of what microphones would be appropriate.

I'd ideally connect straight into the computer but I can adapt.