Live Recording

darvis

Is it just me or are people to obsessed with using trillions of mics during the recording process? Being a musician, I think that the quality of performance takes on much more precedence over the quality of recording.
I'm not saying that music should be terrible quality, but all most music should be recorded live especially in jazz/funk cases.
I think that live performance captures an essence that multi-tracking will never do.
Please tell me what you think.
see ya'z

Naaaahhhh. Since multitrackers provide amazing levels of accuracy, it's up to the sources to get their act together. It can still be delegated to later, more convenient sessions to accomodate all the musicians in the multitrack environment. You have to capture it all at once with your method.

You mean "overdubbing" not multi-tracking.

One can record live to 16 tracks for later mix down.

The dull stuff happens when a band overdubbs to often and too much. Borring basic drum beats that do not adapt to interact with soloists etc...

I agree with your assesment.

What the overdubbing process does and ALL it does is enable Recordng enginners to put off making and commiting to decisions until the last possible momment.

Also if the musical act sucks, there are plenty of easy opportunities to do error correction.

The most committed is live two stereo. If something is wrong the whole thing will have to be done again. But why make mistakes? Do it right the first time. If the band is awesome, their skill will shine through best in a live together all at once recording. And 2 mics to stereo recorder is affordable to many more than the multi-tracking isolation booth monitors etc. manner.

Anyone can make fantastic recordings that can stand up to professional standards as well as marleting sales standards of any ensemble with only
2 excellent mics
2 excellent mic pre-amps
an excellent stereo recorder.

Even if you have "good enough" components, the results can be great.