Laptop/desktop for recording my music?

daddyorca

I've been looking to record music.

I'm a guitarist and have pretty much all of the gear that I need. I use a scarlett 2i4 to record my guitar directly plugged in. I have a decent pair of monitors to hear the audio. I plan on using reaper as my DAW to start and bias FX for my amp sims.

The thing is, my current desktop is on its way out so I can't really record on here. Now, I am a bit on a budget to be honest. Realistically I can spare a good 600 or so for a laptop or desktop, but honestly I don't want to spend that amount right now as I have bills and other things to pay for.

I have a small samsung laptop that I use for school/youtube videos. I was planning on buying either a laptop or desktop and use it pretty much solely for recording my music and mixing etc. Just to get my songs recorded and edited properly.

My question is..exactly how good of a laptop/desktop do I need? Looking around a bit on bestbuy I see laptops for around 200. I do plan on getting a new desktop later on when I have more money to spend to use for everything. But for now I really just want to get to recording. I have all my gear ready minus a laptop. would something that's 200 suffice? How good of a laptop/desktop do I need to have my scarlett 2i4 connected with direct guitar plugin. Reaper running with Bias FX as my plugin. connected to M-audio studio speakers and possibly other plugins like superior drummer running.

I'm anxious to start

Last edited by a moderator:
Desktop will always get you more for the money. Think about it, a screen included in a small package...

That being said, you should think about future needs also. Many pre-built models do not have ability for expansion of ram or PCIe cards. You can lock yourself in to a system that can not be upgraded.

I would suggest building a PC that has ability to upgrade.

I would also suggest using the 'Enter' key to form paragraphs. Really hard to read your post...