How to record one track on all 4 tracks using a portastudio

Mikerobrute

Hello. I'm new to recording, and I hope this is the correct place for my question.

I have a Tascam 414mkII Portastudio.
I am working on a track that only has one instrument and requires no overdubs.
Is there a way to record that one instrument on all four tracks, therefore using up the whole width of the tape? Would using all four channels to record one track increase quality?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
You could bounce the original track to the other 3. Your manual should have a section on Bouncing Tracks (Ping-Pong) - Page 26, I think.

The description in the manual is not an exact procedure for your needs, so you'll have to adapt it.

Thing is, the head layout is such that you get 4 thin tracks at record and a choice of the same 4 tracks when you record--not one wider track.

If you have golden ears and hundreds of thousands in monitoring, there MIGHT be an argument that the centre tracks are better than the ones nearer the edges...but I'd be sceptical of even that!

What do you really mean by 'increase quality'? Better sound to noise ratio? Nope, you've got the same, just 4X as much of each.

- What and how are you recording? Mic'd instrument/voice, direct in (keyboard, etc), through a mixer or preamp? Maybe the 'quality' can be improved before the audio gets to the tape.
- Have you cleaned and deguassed (demagnetize) the tape heads? This is routine maintenance and can affect audio quality. There are Youtube vids on this.

So accepting no SN difference, are there any fidelity differences (other things equal) going from a 1" eight track for example to eight from a 1" 16 trk? That's where I'm going astray, I thought there was.

Actually I think I made this way more complicated than needed;
Any one track, from a 1/2" two track or a 1/4" eight trk?

Last edited: