How to record a band

Root Note

I am new to this recording malarkey so can anyone explain how I can record my five piece band. We are talking Bass, drums, two guitars and vocals. As far as I can assess we would need an interface with at least 10 inputs (bass, 2x guitar, vocals and 6 for the drums), but perusing online retailers I can only see gear with eight inputs at the most

There are 16 and 24 input too...or you can use a pair of 8 input interfaces in tandem.
The question is...do you really plan on or need to record all those inputs simultaneously?

You can lay down drums, bass and one guitar...then add the rest on the next pass...etc.

Howdy.
You could track instruments separately - drums by themselves first (played to a click with scratch guitar and vox so the drummer knows where he/she is in the song) then build up each instrument as you go. That way you only really need an interface with 6-8 inputs.

...oh yeah - what Miroslav said :D

If you're new to this recording malarkey then do you really want to attempt to record an entire band at the same time?

Stick a single mic in the middle of the room and start there.

Root note. I have one of the most basic set ups out of the people on here that record and post their stuff up regularly... its just not that easy.

Before you go mental buying gear learn how to capture each one of the items properly first.

Miking up a guitar cab and dialing in a good recorded tone takes practice but its something many people on here can help you with (Try The New Tone Thread for help with this). Its probably the first thing you should learn.

Many people (including me) DI bass straight into the interface - although if you do this your bassist (or anyone else in the band for that matter) won't be able to hear anything so you'll need something like an A/B/Y so he can go through his amp and you can get the dry track recorded.