How to Rec Grand Piano & Trumpet

TZ745

Hello. I'm new to recording. I want to improve the process. To rec Piano & Trumpet, (at the same time,house) I have been using direct tape deck and 2 r-shack small omni. Then audio-transfer to computer software via reverb, then edit and burn. (Learned to rec on computer was a learning stage..) Point.
Need a more trumpet-original sound (clear).

I'm thinking on moving now to digital rec perhaps on multitrack digital (those advertised like flash cards, fostex, boss, x, if removable keeps data for + storage) and try PZM omni (radio shack) or shure 57, then audio-transfer the same way to computer software via reverb, then edit and comp. burn.

I've heard to place mics not on table, but hanging.
Perhaps ev. is wrong. New to technical area. Dont' have the enough knowledge to decide which way to go to improve.

Would like to ask somebody:
Will this improve sound just because of different equipment?

Limited budget. Non-comercial goal.

Need tips, information about:
Is this an acceptable process? Can somebody give me suggestions or modifications?
Can I rec 4 mic track to MD then mix down only 2 to choose the best 2 (sound) from the 4?
Rec to flash cards > or = than to HD? (sound, capacity, x).

Thanks a lot for guide.
TZ745

Trumpet's a bitch. The only sound I've ever really liked from a trumpet so far has been miking it at about five feet out in a modestly large room with an old Shure 565SD (I think that's the right number) dynamic. Pretty close to an SM58, so....

Make sure you mic it off axis. Don't play directly towards the mic. Point the bell a couple feet to one side or the other. And make sure your room is big enough that it doesn't sound awful. Try a living room, for example....

Forget hanging. Use a mic stand!

As for piano... to make that sound good, you really need either a stereo mic or a pair of similar mono mics. Ideally, a -good- stereo mic or a pair of -good- mono mics... but....