How to make cymbals less obvious....

vomortis

Hi - I'm trying to sharpen up a recording I made a few months ago. The problem is, I only used one condenser mic on the drum kit, and although I've got a fairly decent drum track (considering the circumstances), the cymbals are louder than the rest of the kit.

Is there a way that I can remove their harshness and make them quieter, using EQ or a plug-in effect? I'm still quite new to home recording, so any advice is appreciated!

Not an easy one by any accounts. You could maybe try limiting the highs on the drum track...seems whatever you do it'll still have an overall effect on the whole drum track.

I'm not much help, been up all night

vomortis said:
Hi - I'm trying to sharpen up a recording I made a few months ago. The problem is, I only used one condenser mic on the drum kit, and although I've got a fairly decent drum track (considering the circumstances), the cymbals are louder than the rest of the kit.

Is there a way that I can remove their harshness and make them quieter, using EQ or a plug-in effect? I'm still quite new to home recording, so any advice is appreciated!

What mic did you use? Just out of curiosity.

If you have a sweep or parametric EQ that covers the Upper Mid to High range you could try setting it to maximum boost, sweep through the frequencies until you find the point where the cymbals are at their nastiest and then apply the appropriate amount of cut (a parametric will help as you'll really be able to narrow in on the offending frequency).

Thanks, i'll try both of those ideas.

btw Mark, I'm using a MXL 990 condenser mic. It's the only condenser mic I've used before, so I can't really compare it to anything yet, but it sounds great to me. Apparently it captures a lot of the highs, which might be part of my problem....

You could try this (paraphrased from a DBX 166XL manual).