HOW THE HECK Do you RECORD with a microphone or record digital piano sounds?? HELP?

JupiterStarr

Hi- Noob here... :facepalm:

I REALLY want to start recording music, including potential vocals... but really am lost in a sea of confusion up in here as I have NEVER done this before... at least properly that is.

Here's what I am working with so far-

I have a Roland F-140R digital piano. I'd like to start recording music from that... and have gotten a "EMU XMIDI 1X1 USB MIDI Interface" cable to *ATTEMPT* to hook the piano up to my computer at least. I don't even know if this is the right cable but my attempted research pointed me in this direction...

I don't have any recording software or anything to really get started even once I do manage to hook it up.

I also just got this microphone: Audio-Technica 20 Series AT2050 Multi Pattern Condenser Microphone

Only problem is?

There's a cord at the end of the microphone... what the heck do I plug that into?

The roland keyboard that I have doesn't appear to have an input for it... so I am assuming I am going to need some sort of power source or other thing to plug this line into...

And then I want to send that to my laptop.....somehow?

But I also want to be able to record sounds from my piano potentially at the same time, while also recording from that mic??

Can someone please help me in figuring out what setup needs to be at the END of my mic now to start using it, and what has to happen to feed that sound into some kind of recording situation....

Ditto for recording sounds from my piano?

What sort of software should I be using? Recommendations and suggestions...

I am using a laptop, so any incoming sounds are going to have to come in through USB or some other method here....?

THank you in advance!

There are some things you will need.