how to go about recording

dobro

Tell you what - I've been checking out this forum for a few months now, and although people have talked a lot about gear and how to use it, I can't remember anybody talking about how they actually go about recording.

You know, like what time of day, with or without alcohol ( :)), alone or with others, what state of mind, how many times do you do the same track, what do you listen for in playback, how many days do you work on the same track? Do you have a procedure, or just wing it?

This is really important. I wonder if everybody does it differently...

recording methodology is ususally dependent on the type of group and the type of material being recorded. the approach i use for small classical ensembles is very different than what i would use for a rock band. most popular music, with drumkit, bass, guitars, synths and vocals, is recorded from the bottom up, starting with the rhythm section (drums and bass), and then adding tracks for the other parts to that. everyone is usually quite drunk, which is why so much pop music sucks :-)