how do you record a quiet singing voice?

musicfiend311

Hi, I'm new to recording and want to record myself outdoors but when I sing in a low voice the guitar drowns out my voice
because it's not loud. Even if I play the guitar as quietly as I can, I can't hear myself and the vocal doesn't come out as good.

The only thing I can think of is get a battery powered PA and set up the mic by the speaker and record it that way.
would that be the best way? I want as high a quality as I could possibly get it and also do not want to record the vocal and
guitar separately.

I plan on getting a Zoom H5 as well. I really looked all over the place and couldn't find any suggestions on the best way to do this.
Appreciate any help you guys can offer. Thanks

A few things come to mind?
Why the Zoom? IMHO you need two mics, one on guitar, one CLOSE to gob* and plugged into a decent but conventional AI. One of the Focusrites would serve you well. For mics I would go for Small Diaphragm Capacitors and if possible get them with an attenuator switch for guitar? Speaking of guitar, can you restring with nylons?

If you can get reasonable isolation between the tracks you can then tweak later.

Another thought. Are you singing FOR other people, i.e. 'gigging'? If so and those people are happy with the results try a stereo pair out front? That will pickup what THEY are hearing and are happy with.

*You need to be close and I mean DAMN close! Lips practically brushing the basket, that will result in a bass boost (for directional mics, most are) but that can be corrected in software.

Finally, post some clips. I am no judge but plenty here are and will surely set you on a good path.

Ah! I just saw "battery" ? So, the Zoom might be all you can use? I am not sure the mic pres are really good enough on those? Others here will know. Personally I would go, USB bus powered AI and laptop.
Dave.

Re:

A few things come to mind?