Help me to record my violin

fiddleathome

Hi,

I play violin, I'm still a beginner and not that great but I'm having a lot of fun. I currently have a 3 violins (my old one, a new one, and one lent to me by a friend) and I have been trying to record them to compare and hear the differences. When playing i can hear many differences, all 3 sound good but each one has its own sound. When I record them, the differences are much more subtle. So I think maybe it's my room which is poor or my technique or my equipment. I'm recording with an AT2020 connected to a fast track ultra. My room is very tiny, about 3mx3m (about 9m2), not counting the furniture. The ceiling is very low, about 2.1m. I know this is very limiting. On the other side of the curtain there is an equal size room but with a ceiling about 4.5m, which could help I don't know because we don't keep it heated in winter.

DSC_2145 (Medium).jpg

Today I recorded with my AT2020 and my telephone (Nexus 5) so I could compare. I was really surprised that the quality was similar. The Nexus recording had more noise, that's understandable because I had the gain up, but still, I was thinking the AT2020 should sound much better. I had previously done a similar comparison with my Nexus 5 and a friend's Zoom H4n and saw the same result.

Last week I ordered a Sony PCM-M10, but now I'm thinking if my Nexus 5 is almost as good as the AT2020, do I really need the Sony? It might not be too late to cancel it. Maybe my phone would be good enough when I need portability (weekly lessons, playing with friends, etc.). This is all just for fun, I'm not trying to make a CD or anything.

I attached a simple recording from the AT2020 & Nexus 5. I'd love to get some feedback comments about the room, the recordings (mic 1 is the AT2020), or the AT2020 microphone, let me know.

Thanks

Attachments

• 2015-01-03 violin comparison compagnon mic 2.mp3
    384.3 KB · Views: 29
  • 2015-01-03 violin comparison compagnon mic 1.mp3