Help With Acoustic Guitar Mid Side Miking!

jimmy77611

I'm new to mid side miking on acoustic guitars, and I need a little help. I'm using a SCD for the mid mic, and a LCD in figure 8 for the side. I have everything set up as per all of the instructions online. My mid mic sounds good and my side mic sounds good, but when combined, they sound weird. When listening to the 2 side tracks, panned hard left and right, with the right phased reversed, they sound as if some of the frequencies are filtering. If I center them, they cancel out completely. When I bring up the level on my mid mic, the left channel sounds like some of the frequencies are filtering (thats the side mic with the phase not reversed) as If my mid mic and side mic are having some phase issues from the start. Is this normal? The mid mic mixed with the side mic that is phase reversed sounds good (right channel).

My mid mic is pointing at the body of the guitar at the neck joint, and the side mic capsule is directly under it turned sideways 90 degrees, as close as I could get the capsules together.

I think if i remember right i had some similar issues when i started doing mid/side experiments.
as much as i could i checked for phase issues before recording first and made sure i had a comfortable recording level.
Bearing in mind i am using a ribbon mic for my recvordings, so it's true fig 8.
I made sure the front of the of the mic was facing left.
and the mid mic was positioned as closely as i could comfortably achieve.
Recorded the piece into the daw thn the troubles started lol
I'm still not sure what it was exactly or if my theorem is correct but it solved the issue eventually so
here goes.
Make sure you record mid mic into channel 1 (expecting left side recording)
Make sure the fig 8 side mic is also recording into channel 3 (expecting left side recording)
when you make the duplicate track (to be phase inverted ) put it into channel 2 (even numbers) (expecting a right sided recording)
Invert its phase