Headphones - Impossible?

guitargirl7

I’m just starting out in the recording world, and am putting together my own little studio. I’m in need of a great pair of studio headphones for a great price. Looking around, you can spend way over 300 bucks for a pair. Thing is, not everyone can afford to lay out $50 – $300 bucks for headphones... This sounds crazy, and I know that it may be an impossible task, but I’m looking for the best pair I can get for $25 bucks or under. I know, I know, it’s like asking the sky to rain guitars (might hurt a bit), but I have faith that someone can help me! If anyone is up for the challenge of giving me advice on the best pair of studio headphones for $25 and under, please let me know!

Last edited:
Seems preferences for what a good sounding head phones depends a lot on the individual.
I know so many I've tried sound just so way off.. but then, I think that's my ear, with those phones.
With that in mind why not just try as many as you can and pick the ones you like?

Try Craigslist, really. This way you might get a nice $75-100 pair of headphones for $25-$30. I just saved $450 on a mic that was barely used.

E. C. 'Journeyman :D

High mid a bit forward, a little shy in the bottom -unless I snug them up tight on the ears warms things up.

Then he could also have found different drivers/sources since I bought these.. :o:)
But you know, nothing bizarre going on anywhere near like some 'hifi phones I've heard either. :)

KRK KNS8400's areyour friends...perfect for any job, solid build and most importantly... very comfortable... only about $150 too, leave some money free for buying other toys!!