guitar plugin?

ollie99

hi,
I don't really know that much about recording, only the basics to be honest.
I've been recording for less than 2 years and during that time I have used pod farm and pod farm 2 for guitar sounds. I used the ux1 and ux2 with these, recording onto ableton live lite 7.
The results have been okay, but I find the guitar distortion way too crackly and dirty. Is this pod farm, the interface or ableton? or a mixture?
I've bought a behringer mixer, and I am aware I will not be able to use pod farm with it, so what is the best guitar plug in I should use for a relatively cheap price?
The tones I want is the rhythm and solo of avenged sevenfold, obviously Im not going to get that close to this but at least can the distortion not be crackly? I also want a good clean sound.
Or should I get a sm57 and mic my marshall mg50fx? would that be better?
Any help would be appreciated :)
Thanks

A Mic on your amp may get you the sound you want. Assuming you can use UX1 or UX2 as your audio interface (the mic will plug into it). If you are not happy with the PodFarm 2 sounds (you need to tweek and not just use the presets), you probably won't like any other guitar fx plugin much more.

oh thats a shame, I always made my tones from scratch anyway. I suppose my next buy will be an sm57 which will also fit nicely with the snare :)

I prefer micing my amp.

But, when I can't I've been using amplitube free, and getting some really good sounds. It's cool because it's free and comes with some pretty good basic amps, then you can buy individual amps and gear modeled after the real thing. I have an Orange Rockerverb50 and Fender Twin in real life, and the amplitube versions are pretty freakin good.

It's way more fun to mic the real amp and play, but for when you can't amplitube free is great.