gain adjustments between preamp & DAW...and levels mics 'wants' to see.?

dupedd

I'm new to computer recording so I'm not sure I'm setting levels right. I'm miking a drumset right now using an FMR RNP for overheads(sm81's) and a mic each on the snare and kick. Both those mics are going into the MOTU 828mk2 preamps. The RNP's gain is at 18db and the readout maintains (green)signal level for the most part. The kick and snare's preamp gain are both below 9 o'clock(below 25%) on the gain and read between the -24 and -6 meter, never hitting the -6. On the Logic Express mixer the levels read great, between -18 and -12, never peaking above -9/-8.

Now here's where I'm confused.

According to my reading these levels are in the right range but I can't help but wonder if the mic's are seeing enough gain to perform their best. I remember reading somewhere that microphones want to be amplified a certain amount, like somewhere between 45 and 60 db depending on the type, in order to perform their best. If this is correct then I must not be setting things right, correct? Should I maybe be setting the gain higher on the preamps and then adjusting the gain on the inputs on Logic, like bringing the faders down to between -18 and -12 after setting a particular amount of gain on the preamp? Does this make any sense or am I way off here?

We'll be recording this whole weekend so I'd love to know I have this figured out now before we really get into it. Thanks for reading.

The absolute best thing you could do would be to just listen to different setups as far as how much gain and where, and see what you like best. You may like the sound you get when you put very little gain on the mic pres and do most of the amplification at the motu. Just because most people do it a certain way doesn't make that way "right"- it just works for them. Do whatever works for you.

Thanks for the response.