FOH engineer to recording engineer

Atkron205

I spent many years on the road as a live FOH/moniter enigneer. I have mixed on 52 channel consoles as well as mixing up to 20 monitor mixes on the fly. I did it for a living so I know I can mix. The trouble I am having is moving from the live big sound to a quite studio setting. I have mixed for a 50,000 seat arena and it is easier than a small studio. I still want the big full sound I am used to, is this wrong? the issue I have is eveything sounds small recorded. Maybe I just need to recal my ears. Your thoughts?

I spent many years on the road as a live FOH/moniter enigneer. I have mixed on 52 channel consoles as well as mixing up to 20 monitor mixes on the fly. I did it for a living so I know I can mix. The trouble I am having is moving from the live big sound to a quite studio setting. I have mixed for a 50,000 seat arena and it is easier than a small studio. I still want the big full sound I am used to, is this wrong? the issue I have is eveything sounds small recorded. Maybe I just need to recal my ears. Your thoughts?

That is a typical occurrence from my experience. The difference between live performance and recording, is finding a way to get the ambiance and power that a big system gives a performance, on tiny little drivers that most of us listen to music with.

It ain't easy. I am still working at it. Likely will till I lose my ears...

It keeps getting better though, and I am not deaf yet. :)

A similar thing happens I notice is between tracking- and if you're getting a little bleed through the phones, on play back it's 'smaller, or less depth' at least? = the effect of 'with and w/o the extra room' effect.
Same same but no doubt on a smaller scale :)

I'll add as well, live' we can put up with (and have automatic compensation going on I believe) for all sorts of sins that we don't get away with just listening (mixing etc..

Huh.....what did you say, Jimmy?

:D