Electric Vs. Acoustic drums.

Electric Vs Acoustic Drums.

• Total voters
Hi all ... first post. Please be gentle.

I'm not a drummer, so take that into account. But I've been around music for a long time -- and drummers for a long time -- so I do have a good feel for what is realistic on the drums and what is not. I'm also not a professional engineer, and I don't have tons of money to pay one.

That being said ... until recently, I was all about acoustic drums. Since I don't play, I would buy tons of audio loops. Of course, that leads to a whole set of problems, mostly dealing with how they were recorded and what has been done to them.

A lot of people tried for a long time to get me to switch to MIDI drums, but I resisted because it just wasn't realistic enough. But I decided to give it a try about a year ago, buying EZ Drummer from Toontrack. The flexibility was nice, and the samples were good, but not quite there.

Then I got turned on to the upgrade ... Superior Drummer 2.0. And I have to tell you, it's absolutely KILLIN'.

My Christian band just led worship as guest band at another church. The home church uses e-drums, and they're old and crappy. The triggers are just about shot, and the sounds are really bad. So we decided to bring a spare kit, just a little Roland TD-4, and we hooked them up to my Mac running Superior ... Firepod to the board via stereo outs.

The sound was absolutely beyond belief. Even the cymbals. We heard so many comments from the congregation about how good the drums sounded. Of course, they were used to crap, but still.