DAT vs. Minidisc for field recording, specifically D8 vs. Sharp 24bit MD recorders

SeaOwl

Hope that reads ok
I've been using a sharp minidisk recorder for many years and after many hours, it's just about fallen apart, splayed.

Still, I was very happy with it, and it lasted far longer than I expected it to, considering the travel, wear, and drops inflicted upon it.

So the time has come to get a new field and demo recording unit and could use some guidance from you good folk.

I've been offered a virtually new Sony D8 dat recorder for a price lower than the new minidisc recorder would cost me and was planning to buy that, however, i am also aware of new Sharp (DR7/DR480) 24 bit minidisk recorders, and was wondering if anyone here has any advice.

the plusses of getting another minidisk is the vast repository of demos and song scraps i already have on minidisk and need to access on a fairly regular basis.

the plusses (i think), of getting the D8 is that some of the magic moments i captured on minidisk could have been released if only they were of a higher fidelity.

has anybody ever done a head to head against the D8 and the new Sharp minis? any words of caution about either unit be it build, headlife, glitches, etc?

Thanks for reading, and as always, help warmly appreciated.
Best,
Dave

I use a sharp DR 7 and love it to death. I have done a lot of recordings using a core sounds binaural stereo mic, but have recently got a MXL V57 condensor and have been running both through a behringer mixer. You can hear some examples under the singles section:
Carless Me
How I met Sonnyboy Williamson

6 months in the county- just with core sounds mic direct to md

I don't know alot about dat, but I know I love this mini disc! Audio Cubes has them. Walter

http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/discography.php?aid=3118

Last edited: