creating drum tracks on the PC

tf5_bassist

The LouDogg
Okay... Here's my dilemma... No drumset... at all... I just want to record shit I write, and I'm writing the drum tracks, too... I'm using Cubase VST/32. I'm basically looking for GOOD sounding drum samples and a simple way to write/record them... Several drum programs have a "grid" for writing... as in... you create the drum tracks instrument by instrument, bar by bar, beat by beat, etc etc etc... You all know what I'm talking about... Anyways... I need to find one of these that will easily interface into Cubase... possibly a VST instrument? I dunno, I'm new to Cubase, so I don't know how to do the drum tracks in it... Any ideas at all?

I'll be watching this thread, too.

I've been using Fruity Loops, which I think is a great drum maker, but I want to make the drums sound more realistic. The "humanize" settings in Fruity really suck, IMHO, because all you end up with are certain beats being accented, and in a repeating pattern it just sounds something like a compressor pumping.

I don't think Fruity will integrate into Cubase, though. You have to export the drum tracks as WAVs, then import the WAVs into Cubase.

I played with Fruity Loops a few years back, didn't have much luck with it... But maybe that's cause i'm a moron. I dunno. But as far as intergrating in with Cubase, the new versions of FL can function as a VST instrument. Cool stuff, but I dunno... I just need to find a good solid drum tracker, basically... Maybe I'll mess with FL some other time, however...

Do anyone of you have a sampler: I'M JUST ASKING

cause if you do that you could MAKE your own -- I mean the easiest way to get what you want is really to do it yourself, If you guys had an MPC or something you could make them, or I could catch a few for ya--- but you'd have to have a MPC