Connecting up a rack (compressor, pre-amp, mixer, audio interface) in order to record

JakJak

Hi,
I was wondering whether anyone could help me, in terms of connecting up a compressor, pre-amp, mixer and audio interface to my computer so I can record.

Im a newbie to this complex recording.
At the moment I just run my guitar, mics and midi keyboard through a Tascam US- 122L audio interface into my my computer and record in logic.
But now I think I want to improve my sound with an external rack.
Is that a good idea?
I dont have too much to spend, would it work with it?
What would connect to what? And how would it work?

Thanks,
Jack

Last edited:
Save your money and do a lot more reading. The Behringer stuff isn't going to be any kind of upgrade.

At the moment I just run my guitar, mics and midi keyboard through a Tascam US- 122L audio interface into my my computer and record in logic.

That's a reasonable way of doing things, and there's no need for you to change it.

But now I think I want to improve my sound with an external rack. Is that a good idea?

It's kind of a good idea . . . but . . .

1 If you want to 'improve' your sound you would need to make sure that the outboard gear you get has the quality that would actually make a difference. For the most part, effects that you can get within Logic are likely to be better than outboard gear, particularly as you "don't have too much to spend".

2 If you do pass your signal through outboard gear before it gets into the computer, you can't undo what you've done, so if it turns out to be unsatisfactory, you have to re-track, whereas you can modify effects within Logic to get exactly the effect you want.

Gecko Zzed's advice is sound. A cheap Behringer compressor will certainly give poorer quality than the "in the box" ones in Logic.