Computer Recording or Multitrack Workstation?

jwai

hi guys,

i'm trying to venture into recording. i've only got a budget of USD400 to spend on it. so any clue if i should go for a multitrack workstation or a computer recording? i'm new to recording and i'm a guitar player writing instrumental songs. its basically gonna be me programming the drums and the bass as well. i'm looking for features like drum machines and bass sequencer in it as well. is cakewalk guitar tracks pro good enough? or should i go for digital workstations like a used zoom mrs 1044 or the boss br8? please advise. all comments are welcome. thanks alot guys!!!

yeah, but for a newbie like jwai, seting up a computer recording station with pres and stuff will be hard. sure, guitar tracks pro is great software i have used alot of cakewalk software like guitar tracks, guitar tracks 2.0, guitar tracks pro, home studio, pyro and mp3 encoder. and they are all good. but i would just wait and save up a little more money and go for a workstation. there real easy to work and they give you the same sound quality as the computer would. (just without all the cords and software) check in to the zoom recorders at www.musiciansfriend.com they have all the features that you ask for. (drum/bassmachine,ect,ect,) and the price can be $300 (4-track) to $1000 (12 track with cd burner)
i use the fostex vf-16. you can get it's big (vf-160) with a cd burner for $900 (16-track) go to www.fostex.com or www.vf16.com for more info.

good luck and welcome to the homerecording.com bbs!

zeke