compression question

LMSone

Hi all. Recording novice here, so I'm seeking advice. I know in general you should apply effects AFTER recording as dry a signal as possible. What about compression? I suppose it would make sense to use it in recording, right? Or would you reccomend only using it for certain instruments (ie, drums)? Also, if you use compression in recording, does that mean you shouldn't use it in mixdown?
Thanks! Any and all advice is appreciated.

LMSone said:
I know in general you should apply effects AFTER recording as dry a signal as possible.

Though this is a good idea for beginners, I would NOT recommend this. I would recommend that you learn how to use processing creatively, and that means that sometimes you lay down the track with the effects already there. Not always, but I do not like to limit my options in this way.

LMSone said:
What about compression? I suppose it would make sense to use it in recording, right? Or would you reccomend only using it for certain instruments (ie, drums)?

Most of the compression I do is while recording. The original purpose of compression was to improve the level of signal to tape, and thus improve the signal to noise ratio. This should be the primary use for compression.

What I call "creative" compression I usually do while mixing. This includes things like compression for distortion and other effects of similar sort, adding punch to a kick drum, or any of a number of other uses which are used to improve the mix.

LMSone said:
Also, if you use compression in recording, does that mean you shouldn't use it in mixdown?

Not at all. Compression serves many different purposes. Part of learning to use compression is learning to use it in appropriate ways at every stage of recording. The other part is learning when not to use it.

Light

"Cowards can never be moral."
M.K. Gandhi

LMSOne: