Choosing a laptop to use as a recording rig

valacirca

I'm currently eyeing an Acer Aspire 4740 (specs below) --- would anyone have any thoughts regarding this? Use will be mostly for amateur audio recording stuff via Reaper, which I use with several amp/cab modeling plugins (because my current *old* 1.6Ghz Pentium-M Twinhead laptop crashes under too much audio processing). Of course there's also the mandatory use for surfing, watching videos, listening to music and maybe the occasional game or two.

I'm new to this Intel Core i3/5/7 thing. It seems to be fast, affordable and I haven't heard anything against its reliability. Is it all that?

Processor
Intel® Core i5-430M processor (3 MB L3 cache, 2.26 GHz with Turbo Boost up to 2.53 GHz, DDR3 1066 MHz, 35 W), supporting Intel® 64 architecture, Intel® Smart Cache

Chipset
Mobile Intel® HM55 Express Chipset

Screen
14" HD Acer CineCrystal™ LED-backlit TFT LCD, 16:9 aspect ratio, 8 ms response time

RAM
2GB DDR3, upgradeable to 8 GB using two soDIMM modules (for 64-bit OS)

Storage
500GB HDD

Optical Drive
DVD SuperMulti Double Layer Drive

Communication
Integrated Bluetooth, Integrated Wireless WiFi Link 802.11b/g/Draft-N, Gigabit Ethernet, Wake-on-LAN ready, 56K ITU V.92 with PTT approval12, Wake-on-Ring ready

I/O Interfaces
5-in-1 Media Reader ; HDMI™ port with HDCP support

Graphic
512 MB nVidia GeForce G310M of dedicated DDR3 VRAM, supporting NVIDIA® CUDA™, PhysX™, PureVideo® HD technology, OpenEXR High Dynamic-Range (HDR) technology, Shader Model 4.0, Microsoft® DirectX® 10.1

Audio
3rd Generation Dolby Home Theater, True5.1-channel surround sound output, featuring Dolby® Digital Live, Dolby® Headphone, Dolby® Pro Logic® IIx, Dolby® Audio Optimization, Dolby® High Frequency Enhancer technologies, Dolby® Natural Bass and Dolby® Sound Space Expander

WebCam
Acer Crystal Eye High-Def webcam