Cheapest/most effective way of recording drums (possibly using what I have)

k396s

Hey all,

I have been recording drums for songs I have written for years now using my mobile pre two channel preamp, garage band and combination of a Senheiser e825 and Sure (forget number) mics. Sometimes it doesn't come out half bad when I really take the time to get everything set right, but other times it sounds terrible. Even at its best, I have never been able to get the sound I was looking for. I really want the best quality drum sound I can get as it is the foundation of the song. Hearing a clean, crisp, powerful sounding drum track just makes me want to record guitar over it. Also, the adjustability of a multi-track/multiple mic recording setup would be great as I always have problems with one drum/cymbal being too loud/too quiet/too tinny with no ability to adjust.

Anyway, my biggest issue is budget as I am a graduate student and have to work 20+ hours a week at an internship for free in addition to my full time classes. It leaves me with only enough time to wrench on cars at a local shop to just barely pay the bills. I was thinking of spending a little money I have saved up on some drum recording gear. I understand I would probably be best waiting and saving up more to get some good stuff, but I am not getting any younger and have been waiting years to record a full album to at least half decent standards. I really don't know when I will have any more money to spend than I do now.

I was thinking of buying one of the highly rated, 7 piece drum mic kits from Guitar Center for around $200. I just don't know of the cheapest/best way to make this work with my setup. I know I will need a mixer so I can record all the tracks, but will I need to buy a mixer with a pre-amp or can I use my mobile pre for any of this? Do you guys think this can all be done for around $400-500 if getting good deals on the drum mic, finding maybe a used mixer etc...?

Thanks!