Budget vocal mic: Rode NT1-A or MXL v67g?

cashcohen

Jewnior Member
I'm a vocalist+acoustic guitarist new to home recording. I'm looking for a cheap large-diaphragm condenser mic to lay down some crisp, clean vocal tracks. My budget is ~$200.

After scouring the web for I-don't-know-how-many-hours, two mics keep rearing their heads: the Rode NT1-A (~$200), and the MXL v67g (~$100).

Does anyone have experience with either of these? With both? How do they differ? Is the Rode worth the extra 100 bucks? Apparently it comes with a pop filter, shock mount, and XLR cable...are these any good?

Any opinions appreciated! Thanks.

Can't comment on the NT1A but I've got the V67G and have found it to be a pretty damned good mic. I've used it on male and female vox.
Well spent $100. ;)

I have two of the original NT-1s, and honestly, I find very limited use for them. My friends Down Under will vehemently disagree with that, but my experience has been that they are very brittle/harsh-sounding on the high end. I have used them to mic a Rhodes keyboard and the right keys on a rather dark-sounding upright piano, but I personally would not go to one of them for vocal use unless the vocalist was lacking almost all natural sibilance in his voice. Perhaps the NT-1a has improved in that regard, but I'd have to have a choice between throwing $200 in the street or buying another NT-1 before I'd get another NT-1.

I have no experience with the V67G, but I do use it's big brother, the V69N for vocals quite often and have had some very good results with it. I'd look for a used V69 to fit that budget.

G.

My friends Down Under will vehemently disagree with that, but my experience has been that they are very brittle/harsh-sounding on the high end.