Brand new, want to start recording death metal vocals.

iosappsrock

Title basically sums it up. I'm brand new to audio and I'd like to begin recording death metal vocals. I prefer to learn as I go, so I'm looking for some help on what equipment to get.

What is cheap, and easy to use? I'd like to spend under $300.00 for the whole setup. I'm not looking for amazing quality right now. Just somehing to get me started doing vocal covers for practice, and to learn/get a grasp on how recording vocals works.

Suggestions? What equipment do I need? I'm very technically minded, so I'm hoping I can figure things out as I go. If that sounds impossible to you, then please recommend where I can learn the basics.

Thanks!

Title basically sums it up. I'm brand new to audio and I'd like to begin recording death metal vocals. I prefer to learn as I go, so I'm looking for some help on what equipment to get.
It's not the best way to learn considering the following, but there you have it.
What is cheap, and easy to use? I'd like to spend under $300.00 for the whole setup. I'm not looking for amazing quality right now.
That's good (that you're not looking for amazing quality) - Because $300 isn't going to get you much. If you put $300 into a mic, $300 into an interface with decent preamps, $300 into speakers and $300 into room treatments you'd be on the "extremely budget friendly" side. $300 for everything is going to be EXTREMELY basic. That said - A Shure SM58, Focusrite 2i2 and -- well, if there's a $50 set of speakers out there and some cabling... You've already exceeded your budget, but you can record sound.

It's not the best way to learn considering the following, but there you have it.