Behringer XENYX X1204USB??

AddisonXI

Argumentative...
Hi, I am completely oblivious on how to record in a home studio. I am a musician of sorts and I'm trying to learn to record my music just for personal hobby. I've read on the newbie board about audio interface and have a slightly better understanding of the equipment. I know this board may seem like overkill for a newbie but I was wondering what all of you thought. Am I even looking at a piece of equipment that can be used for home recording? I doubt my recordings will be complex at first and won't use a drum set(probably just an electronic piano or beat software). I intend to just record guitar, bass, and vocals. Also, I have a small budget. Having two kids and a family puts a strain on things. So I don't need anything too fancy, and under 200 dollars seems reasonable. Thanks for your help guys ^_^

Yes, it will work but it may or may not be a good choice for you. As usual, "it depends" on where your priorities lie.

Despite all the inputs and knobs, the mixer is only a two in, two out USB interface to your computer. I probably has lots of features you don't need/shouldn't use. The channel EQs are pretty rubbish compared to what you can do in any decent bit of DAW software. Similarly, the onboard effects are nowhere near as good as the plug ins you'll have access to--and latency will make it difficult to use them as well.

Finally, the mic pre-amps are very much to a price and can get somewhat noisy if you ever have to turn the input gain up past about 3 o'clock. From a quality point of view, spending your budget on a basic two in/two out interace (M-Audio Fast Track Pro for example, but there are tons equally as good).