Bathroom as a vocal booth?

ibleedburgundy

The Anti-Lambo
I am a newbie so go easy on me. I have a townhouse and I record in my basement. My basement is one 14x15 room and a bathroom. The bathroom is the typical size with a toilet facing a large mirror. I like to record my band live and I'm thinking about having my singer stand in the bathroom for better isolation. Also, at the times when we record individially I was thinking I could make this into a vocal booth but there would be no window.

The bathroom has a tile floor.

Is it a good idea for me to turn this room into a vocal booth? If so, what treatments can you recommend?

I tried to search the forums using the words "bathroom" and "vocal booth" but I didn't find anyone else trying to make the conversion. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
I've often considered using a public bathroom for recording purposes. The reverb in those places sounds so good!

I would probably opt for a public restroom over a private one since those give you more space and generally have fewer sound dampening surfaces (curtains, towels, etc.)

...i hear it was popular in the eighties...

take that as you will

but anyways, why don't you try it out and see if you like the sound.

Personally, I wouldn't even consider it if I wasn't going to treat the hell of out of that room with absorbtion material. The tiles will give you LOTS of early reflections, and a very short reverb tale. Even though the sound itself may be decent, it's way too prominent to be of any use.

Oh, you mean he was serious??? I thought this was a joke. All that mention of tile floors and mirrors, of all things. I thought, he can't be serious. Talk about an acoustic nightmare.

It will most likely add a very unpleasant short bright refelction to the vocals.......something that you can't get rid of if you don't like it...........If you want to use the space for isolation, buy some cheap auralex kit and deaden the room..... :)