Any tips on how to reduce computer (fan) noise?

JLondon

Cat Herder
I have a pretty noisy fan on my computer. Anyone get any low noise fans or put their computer behind a sound deadening box? Curious to see if anyone has tried anything to do anything about a noisy computer fan in their recording room. My dynamic mics don't pic it up but the condenser does. I have a small room and can't get very far away from it.

I am using a condenser mic (AT 2035) on an acoustic guitar, AKG D5 for vocals. I am a beginner so if this mic choice is off let me know. I was thinking maybe I should go with SM 57's (maybe 2 for a full sound, so far my guitar sound is thin.) They probably wouldnt pic up the computer fan as much as the condenser does. Ideas?

My case came with a device for altering the fan speed. You need to be wary of overheating, test the temperature is ok at a quiet setting.

I custom built my own recording computer with only one fan. That single fan runs so slowly that you have to be within one foot of it to even hear it at all. From six feet away, it sounds completely silent. If it wouldn't be for the computer monitor being lit up, I couldn't even tell the machine is on.

It takes a combination of tricks and efforts to make it work...

1. I started with a rack-mount computer case that lives in a tall equipment rack with nothing mounted above it. The computer case itself always has the lid removed so the heat can escape by gravity/convection. (?) The front of the equipment rack is enclosed to block sound from the room. The rear is open to ventilate.

2. I removed the fan from the video card and replaced it with a special "fin" type cooler.

3. I used stick-on cooling fins for the north and south bridge chips.

4. I purchased a silent power supply with no fan. (SeaSonic makes some good fanless ones.)