Adding distortion to clean guitars

Superhuman

Shagaholic
I'm a newbie here so please don't laugh if this is a bad idea... I've had success DI'ing my Triaxis so please don't recommend micing up an amp or stack that I don't have! I've ben playing for a long time so I know how technique affects clean to distorted recordings.

I use a Boss GT-Pro and a Mesa Boogie Triaxis with a Mesa Simul Class 2:90 to get my guitar tones. The biggest problem I find recording is that the tone itself is destructive in so far as you can't really do that much to change the root tone after you've recorded a take. With the GT-Pro it's possible to set up a nice fat distorted effects driven lead tone straight out of the studio monitors with a USB before the effects chain straight to ProTools/SX3. I play instrumentals with a lot of really fast lead so there are often punch ins and edits, I've always found it a lot easier to edit clean guitar tracks than distorted. Being able to play with the distortion on in the monitors is important to get the correct picking attack and levels of muting and harmonics but it would be great to be able to experiment with distortion from scratch over a clean track.
Is it possible to edit the track to perfection then route it back through the GT-Pro/Triaxis to add the effects/distortions etc? For me, distortion is like any other effect in the mix that you want to be able to revise and tweak during the mixing process. Can this be done? If so what advice or suggestions would you have for a newbie?? I have studio time booked for next week and I'm thinking that if it can be done, I'd like to simultaneously record a clean track alongside each dirty track (dirty for guides), edit them in tandem, then export all of the clean tracks to a fresh mix and work on the tones at my own leisure over time - basically use the studio time for get the takes right - then go back at a later date to mix the tones that I will have had weeks to experiment with.